My random thoughts on cheerleading

I’ve just finished watching a movie on cheerleading. It has the usual twist of the cheerleading captain being very nasty and doing all sorts of things to ensure she remains in the limelight. From unheard of initiations to working her way into the social lives of her cheerleading team.

Now, I was born, educated and raised in Africa. My age demographic is between 35 and 40. At both primary/junior school and high/senior school there was no such thing as cheerleaders. I shudder to think that as Africans we found no place for youths dancing, jumping and doing air summersaults being solely put to use as the break time entertainment. (Disclaimer: I am subject to correction as to the role of cheerleaders)

Such feats as shown on most cheerleading movies are nothing short of amazing and those kids deserve to be at the Olympics not squabbling or grinning and bearing the almost lunatic rule of a captain. To be fair, I must say that I am not the best educated on cheerleading, but I believe the sporting coaches in my day would have put these young men and women to good use in one sporting area or another.

Please don’t consider that there were no supporters at these sporting events. But their role was to support the team during play. The break time was kept for the purpose of taking a break for both players and supporters.

As a former hockey player, there is no place I’d have rather been than playing on the pitch rather than supporting the hockey team.

I’m not trying to start a debate, let alone figure out the basic appropriateness of the little skirts worn, I’m just wondering if my African country was somehow left behind on the cheerleading train.

After writing this piece, I think we did quite alright focusing more on the actual game than the entertainment. Just my shallow thoughts on break time entertainment.

3 thoughts on “My random thoughts on cheerleading

  1. lol You have summed up what cheerleading seems to be. I will say that there are competitions, and people fought hard for it to be seen as a sport in and of itself, not just entertainment.

    Like

Leave a comment