A Poem to Momma

Am I really the shadow of the woman I used to be?

Am I so loathsome in sight that you can barely look at me?

Has my new self threatened our once undying love for each other?

Look, please. Look at the love of your life

Yes it’s true I’m not the flat bellied, round breasted twenty something year old I was.

But you did say you fell in love with my smile and laugh,

Can these not redeem me now

Can they not redeem and refurbish your love for me?

Was it not our plan to create life together

Is it not by nature that such life lives in a woman

And like any battle, can this new me not be my battle scars?

How dare you look at me with disgust

And yet melt at the fruit of my belly

How dare you downplay my worth

And still expect my self esteem to be on point

How dare you shy away from my affection

And yet want the blushes of another

Do you not know that from these hips a nation is born

From these breast a nation is fed

From this tummy kings, queens, leaders lay

And from within it life was borne

Lift your head up mom, you are a miracle

Face the sun, without your temple none would come forth

Stand up, for your worth precedes his comprehension

Walk tall for your fruit adore you

A tribute to women whose bodies have taken on a new shape from childbirth. You are Momma 💞💞

Leave a comment